Ubisoft Pushes Rayman Legends Retold From October 1 to December 3

Rayman Legends Retold gameplay representing Ubisoft's delayed December 2026 release

Ubisoft has delayed Rayman Legends Retold by two months, moving the reimagined platformer’s release from Oct. 1 to Dec. 3, 2026, even though the game has already gone gold.

The delay affects the planned releases across PlayStation 5, Xbox Series XS, Nintendo Switch 2 and PC. Ubisoft’s development team said it is taking additional time to give the game further attention before launch, but it has not identified a specific technical problem responsible for the postponement.

The timing makes the delay unusual. “Going gold” traditionally means a game has reached the milestone at which a release build is ready for manufacturing and distribution. A gold announcement does not prevent developers from continuing work on patches, however, and Ubisoft has opted to use the extra two months rather than proceed with the October launch.

Ubisoft says Rayman Legends Retold needs additional time

In its delay message, the Rayman team confirmed the new Dec. 3 date and said that, despite reaching gold status, it wanted more time to ensure the game’s details receive sufficient attention. Ubisoft did not specify which parts of Rayman Legends Retold are being polished or whether the delay relates to one particular platform.

Players will not have to wait until December for another substantial look at the game. Ubisoft plans to release a Game Overview trailer on Sept. 22, when selected media outlets and creators are also expected to publish new hands-on impressions.

That date should provide considerably more information about the state of the project and how far Ubisoft Montpellier and Ubisoft Milan have taken their reinterpretation of the 2013 platformer.

Ubisoft’s webpages and some digital storefronts were still displaying the former Oct. 1 date when checked on Sept. 14, illustrating how recently the schedule changed. The publisher’s original Rayman Legends Retold announcement had set Oct. 1 for the worldwide launch.

Rayman Legends Retold is more than a conventional remaster

The delay does not change what Ubisoft has announced for the game.

Developed by Ubisoft Montpellier and Ubisoft Milan, Rayman Legends Retold reworks the foundation of 2013’s Rayman Legends rather than simply increasing its resolution. Ubisoft describes it as a reimagining featuring redesigned 3D visuals, a retold story and fully voiced cinematics.

Rayman, Globox, Barbara, Grand Minimus and Murphy return as playable characters in a new journey through the Glade of Dreams. Ubisoft has also announced a new realm, additional musical stages, dragon-riding sequences and an expanded soundtrack.

The platforming adventure supports solo play and up to four-player local couch co-op. Kung Foot also returns with revised controls, power-ups and customizable rules.

The package additionally includes Rayman Origins: Enhanced Edition. Ubisoft says the updated version of Rayman Origins adds 4K resolution, 60 fps support, new collectibles and rewards, compatible-controller haptic feedback and quality-of-life improvements.

The Standard Edition has been listed at $39.99, while Ubisoft’s Deluxe Edition is $49.99 and adds four retro-inspired character costumes and an in-game art gallery.

For readers following other major releases across current platforms, GameFi Times’ coverage of new VR games arriving in September 2026 tracks another part of the busy late-2026 games calendar.

December 3 creates a different launch environment

Moving from Oct. 1 to Dec. 3 does more than give Ubisoft two additional months of development time. It changes the competitive environment around Rayman’s return.

An Oct. 1 launch would have positioned Rayman Legends Retold at the beginning of a crowded month of major releases. December moves it beyond much of the traditional October and November rush, but Dec. 3 is not an empty date: Dragon Quest Monsters: The Withered World is among the games also scheduled for that day.

The new date also places Rayman Legends Retold after the currently scheduled Nov. 19 launch of Grand Theft Auto VI. That does not make the two games direct competitors — their genres and likely audiences differ substantially — but major releases can affect consumer attention and spending across the wider games market.

The additional development time may therefore prove more important to Ubisoft than preserving the original early-October window.

Rayman’s return now has another important date before launch

The immediate date for Rayman fans to watch is Sept. 22, not Dec. 3.

The promised overview trailer and third-party hands-on coverage should provide the clearest opportunity yet to assess how Rayman Legends Retold differs mechanically from the original and whether its new presentation preserves the responsiveness and rhythm that defined Rayman Legends.

Until those impressions arrive, Ubisoft’s explanation for the delay remains deliberately broad. The publisher has confirmed additional polish time, but it has not disclosed a particular bug, performance issue or platform-specific problem.

That distinction matters: the fact that Rayman Legends Retold has gone gold indicates that the project reached a major production milestone, not that every aspect of the game was considered beyond further improvement.

Ubisoft’s official Rayman Legends Retold game page provides the publisher’s current overview of its features and supported platforms.

For GameFi Times readers interested in how new technology is affecting games beyond traditional platform releases, our recent look at Germany’s Bundeswehr recruiting at Gamescom examines the intersection of gaming, VR, cybersecurity and professional recruitment.

Unless Ubisoft makes another scheduling change, Rayman Legends Retold will now launch Dec. 3, 2026, on PS5, Xbox Series X|S, Nintendo Switch 2 and PC. The Sept. 22 gameplay presentation should offer the next meaningful indication of what Ubisoft intends to accomplish with those extra two months.

Scroll to Top